Blogmas Day 16 – The Christmas Tag

Is this a thing? It should be a thing.

Blogmas day 16! Ho ho how’s everyone doing today? Did you like that one? I’m trying to keep it fresh.

Anyway! The fact that it is already the 16th of December is baffling to me. Why do all of the other months of the year seem to go by so slowly, yet December always flies by? It’s just not fair. December should last the length of two months AT LEAST.

Okay. Complaint / rant over. Onto today’s topic–the Christmas tag!

I don’t know if this is like an “official” tag or anything but I am using questions that I found from a fellow blogger whose page you can check out here.

I can see you’re all in deep suspense, quivering in antici-

 

 

-pation, so I won’t keep you all waiting any longer. To the tag!

1. What is your favorite Christmas movie?

It’s got to be Elf, doesn’t it? It’s just such a classic movie to watch during the holidays. Will Ferrel is hilarious (as per usual) and there is just so much festive magic all throughout the film that you can’t help but feel Christmas-y when watching it.

2. Have you ever had a white Christmas?

Absolutely! I live on the East Coast, so it gets pretty cold during December over here. We don’t always get a huge amount of snow, but we have had a few years where it’s been like a blizzard. Here’s hoping for at least a foot of snow this year!

3. Where do you usually spend your holiday?

I usually spend the holidays at home, where I grew up and still live at the moment. Our house is the place where everyone gathers and spends Christmas Eve together. It’s really the only time of the year when all of us get o be in one place at the same time. Then, on Christmas Day, my immediate family (my mom, dad, and brother) all just kind of hang out in the house and have a chill day to ourselves.

4. What is your favorite Christmas song?

Ooh. That’s a tough one. I think if I had to chose the it would be a tie between Michael Buble’s Holly Jolly Christmas or the Pentatonix version of Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays. It’s so hard to pick just one because they’re literally all so amazing. If you would like to know all of my fave Christmas albums, I have a post on that as well.

5. Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

Not really. We used to have a tradition of doing a pollyanna (which is basically another name for Secret Santa) between the “adults” of the family, but as all of us “kids” started getting older we just stopped doing it. Now my mom just gets a present for each of the younger kids of the family so that they can open something during the celebration.

6. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donder, Blitzen, Rudolph! And I promise I didn’t cheat.

7. What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year?

I think just having everyone get together for Christmas Eve is a great tradition. It’s the only time of the year when I get to see all of my family and it really makes me appreciate what I am lucky enough to have.

8. Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

Real! For the past few years we’ve had a real tree, but we have had a fake tree in the past.

9. What is your all-time favorite holiday food / sweet treat?

Now, I am Italian, so for the past couple of years we’ve had cannolis and they are just so delicious. Also, my family always makes pizzelles, which are an Italian waffle cookie and they are amazing as well. Anything gingerbread also is one of my faves.

10. Be honest: Do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

Giving–100%. I love buying gifts for all of my friends and family. The looks on their faces when they open their presents is so much better than receiving any gift.

11. What is the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

It would probably have to be my DSLR. A few years ago, my parents got me a Canon Rebel 3T and its amazing. I have always loved photography and taking pictures so I am so thankful to have a really nice camera to do that with. And it helps with this blog! I love taking pictures for my blog posts–so be on the lookout for some of them!

12. What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

New York or London. I have been to New York in December with one of my friends. I have seen the giant decorations and the Christmas tree. But I would love to stay there and see them at night (not to mention the snow would make everything look more amazing. Also, I would love to go to London in general. Christmas in London just sounds so perfect, though. I think the weather would be incredible, but the shopping would be phenomenal. I love so many English-based companies and brands that I would have a heyday.

13. Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I wouldn’t call myself a pro, but Im not the worst. I think I can wrap a mean present, so I definitely don’t fail (at least I don’t think so?)

14. Most memorable holiday moment?

My most memorable holiday moment would have to be when I was really little and my brother and I came out into our kitchen (where our tree was at the time) and just saw all of the presents that were there for us. I was probably only about 6 or something, but that year I got a bike, and stuffed animals, and baby dolls–it was just really magical.

15. What made you realize the truth about Santa?

My mom. She sat me down one day and told me. I cried. I don’t know why I cried, though. Like, in my head, I knew that he wasn’t real–same with the tooth fairy, the easter bunny, etc. I guess my heart just wasn’t ready to let go of him yet. I still get presents to this day that say their from Santa, though!

16. Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

Not anymore. I used to make resolutions, but I could just never stick to them. I’m usually pretty content with myself and my life, so I don’t really want to change anything. And if I don decide to make a change, I’ll just do it at that point in my life rather than try to force it on myself at the beginning of the new year.

17. What makes the holidays special to you?

Family. Friends. Christmas songs, films, and decorations. Anything of the sort. Every little thing that happens in December makes the holidays special for me. You guys make the holidays special for me this year, too. As long as you have someone who cares about around, I don’t think there’s a way for the holidays not to be special.

Finally done! That took a bit longer than expected. Maybe I just write too much. Oh well. I hope you all have enjoyed reading this. If you made it all the way to the end, then I thank and commend you greatly!

Feel free to leave a comment down below–answers some of these questions in the comments! I would love to hear all about your past, present, and future Christmases.

Thanks for reading. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

